• Artist: Monuments
  • Title: Ice Pick Lobotomy
  • Genre: Rock - Experimental/Post-Rock, Rock - Alternative Pop, Pop - Alternative Pop
  • Mood: Down/Dark/Melancholic
  • Speed: Medium (78-95)
  • Instruments: Real Drums/Drum Kit, Acoustic Guitar (Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin), Electric Guitar (Clean, Overdriven), Bass
  • Track type: Lyric - Full Length
  • Date added: 10/5/2010
  • Lyric themes: Self-Empowerment, Anger Hatred, Being High Stoned, Rebellious, Insanity, Suicide
  • Lyrics: Speaking out loud in a subway station Keep my mind from its destination It's hard to say no, deny this fight Friendly fire has attractive light Oh lord, he's smiling at me Strumming his chords and tapping his feet He won't fool me I may need lobotomy Or maybe just laugh away This endless siege of lightning strikes Burns a hole right through my spine Suicide mind, the waves will rise Terrorist lies, no futures left dry Slamming down, all dead in his wake A fading sound, a survivor's escape I hear him now, he's trying to say I will never be defeated again
  • Keywords: sad, Bass, Guitar
  • Ending type: End Sustain

About Monuments


Brooklyn, NY United States

In the winter of 2008, Monuments drove north to begin laying down tracks for their debut album. Surrounded by snow, in a studio in Woodstock, many of the songs they recorded had begun as lyrical inquiries: singer Gabriel Berezin, 10 minutes late to work, watched an airplane fly through his office window in the World Trade Centers on Sept 11, 2001.

Monuments' lineup took form over the intervening years; in came drummer Mike Cook, followed by ...

Preview track
Share track
Add track to playlist