• Artist: Monuments
  • Title: Not My Own
  • Genre: Rock - Experimental/Post-Rock
  • Mood: Down/Dark/Melancholic
  • Speed: Medium (78-95)
  • Instruments: Real Drums/Drum Kit, Acoustic Guitar (Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin), Electric Guitar (Clean, Overdriven), Bass
  • Track type: Lyric - Full Length
  • Date added: 10/5/2010
  • Lyric themes: Denial, Truth Honesty, Restless, Soul Searching, Struggle Hardship, Insanity
  • Lyrics: I'm burned but I haven't the time to cry I learned I'm fine, I don't need to breathe to know I'm alive Alive I don't buy, that you have to give into this body's commands I won't dance I despise my own thoughts, they're not mine They're not mine I'm not my own... My fantasies, they haunt and they swirl, they come down on my world My world They drown in the waters and tides rolling in, they wash out They climb in Relief that I'll never feel sad or remorse on my course Of course I'm not here, and there's no other story to fear I'm all ears I'm all ears I'm not my own... And you can't catch me...
  • Keywords: sad, Bass, Guitar
  • Ending type: Fade Out

About Monuments


Brooklyn, NY United States

In the winter of 2008, Monuments drove north to begin laying down tracks for their debut album. Surrounded by snow, in a studio in Woodstock, many of the songs they recorded had begun as lyrical inquiries: singer Gabriel Berezin, 10 minutes late to work, watched an airplane fly through his office window in the World Trade Centers on Sept 11, 2001.

Monuments' lineup took form over the intervening years; in came drummer Mike Cook, followed by ...

Preview track
Share track
Add track to playlist