• Artist: Jared Grabb
  • Title: What Gets Left Behind
  • Genre: Pop - Adult Contemporary
  • Mood: Sentimental/Ballad
  • Speed: Slow (45-63)
  • Instruments: Acoustic Piano, Real Drums/Drum Kit, Acoustic Guitar (Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin), Electric Guitar (Clean, Overdriven), Bass
  • Track type: Lyric - Full Length
  • Date added: 10/6/2011
  • Lyric themes: Anguish Desperation, Broken-Hearted, Love Lost, Missing a Loved One, Moving On Letting Go, Longing
  • Lyrics: The hours were passing just like any other night, and the TV burned so bright, because it was my company. It would keep me warm and awake until twilight. But, when the phone came ringing at nearly 3 in the morn', all that I could say was, "Hello. Who is this? Please state your business. Who would call at such an hour? The thinker thought wrong, because he'd been thinking too much. His eyes didn't glow when he heard her voice on the telephone. They didn't well up. He didn't cry tears. His surprise had been spoiled by fear that she might hurt him or not be the one. Minutes began slowing as she realized that she didn't know him. He didn't know her. There were things they might never go over. Voices became distant, and she wondered if he even missed her. Did he take credit for all those times that he'd kissed her lips or held her in his arms. And, when he hung up the phone, there was a harsh and cold silence that filled the air. Nothing but silence.
  • Keywords: Ballad, Bass, Guitar, Organic

About Jared Grabb

Jared Grabb

Chicago, IL United States

Jared Grabb (photo by Brett Rhoades)

Jared Grabb has been performing and recording since 1995. He has played in a great many bands, the most notable being The Forecast (Eyeball Records) and Scouts Honor (No Idea Records). He was the principle songwriter for Scouts Honor, and he assisted songwriting in The Forecast. He has toured the country many times and performed alongside acts such as Against Me!, Joey Cape, Minsk, Fire When Ready, Sundowner, The Junior Varsity, Jena Berlin, Catburglars, Bridge ...

Preview track
Share track
Add track to playlist