• Artist: Mercury City String Band
  • Title: Manhood
  • Genre: Country - Classic
  • Mood: Laid Back/Groovy
  • Speed: Medium Fast (95-130)
  • Instruments: Real Drums/Drum Kit, Acoustic Guitar (Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin), Electric Guitar (Clean, Overdriven), Bass
  • Track type: Lyric - Full Length
  • Date added: 4/19/2012
  • Lyrics: When I was just a young man, ‘bout three or four weeks ago I would sit and I would cry ‘bout how things tend to go I’ve made amends with all my past and now my trouble is:how can I keep her satisfied now that her boy’s a man.I’ll work real hard to treat her right, the way it ought to be and if she goes, well then I’ll know, that manhood’s not for me.All my friends seem satisfied with everything they do they’ve got their wives, they’ve got their kids and God, you know it’s true.But every time I settle down, I think about the end can I keep myself satisfied just like my Daddy did?He worked real hard to treat her right, the way it ought to be she stuck around this one horse town to be with him and me.And Daddy said to do my best and Momma said to get some rest.I just said, ” Hey point me toward the road.”If you want me to settle down then saddle up this one horse town where’s the key, lets make this house a home.And I’ll work hard to treat her right the way it ought to be.and if she stays, well, then I’ll say, “She made a man of me.”I’ll make amends with all my friends, all their wives and all their kids.I’ll be a man the way it ought to be.
  • Keywords: americana, Bass, Guitar, Nashville

About Mercury City String Band

Mercury City String Band

Syracuse, NY United States

Photo: Beth Weinstein

Taking their call from such luminaries as Wilco, Steve Earle, Lucinda Williams, Hank Senior and Johnny Cash, The MCSB has composed a diverse battery of songs and performed them from Indiana to New York, occasionally even showing up to open-mics or busking for free beer somewhere on Main Street. Their sound is down home, unapologetic and raw.

The members of the band evolve over time with the only consistent member being songwriter/vocalist/guitarist Sean Conrey. Other members ...

Preview track
Share track
Add track to playlist