• Artist: Skittish
  • Title: Living Amongst
  • Genre: Rock - Alternative Pop, Pop - Alternative Pop
  • Mood: Up/Positive, Laid Back/Groovy
  • Speed: Fast (130-160)
  • Instruments: Acoustic Guitar (Guitar, Banjo, Mandolin), Percussion, All Other
  • Track type: Lyric - Full Length
  • Date added: 10/18/2011
  • Lyric themes: Self-Empowerment, Determination, Optimism
  • Lyrics: Living amongst the green as green can be, a house upon the plains and sounds so sweet. Your grandpa's ghost a'creaking attic floors, oldies from the workshop, dishes from the kitchen, not into the wild but into the city to be tempted. Living amongst the green is mighty fine. Young enough to know we'll never die. Here we like to watch the concrete creep. Here we spit the wind, yes, here we play for keeps. I met a man who's face was flanked by gray. He had fault lines where his frowns too often lay. He said, “Son, you've got to stop this nonsense, earn those checks and live for weekends. We are on the side of angels, and you are not complete.” That's when I learned never to confuse wrinkles with wisdom. This lesson was new. It's always something else. I hope I go to heaven when I die, but I have got indulgences to buy. Tell me if that's the road you wish to take. Tell me and I will gladly help you pay your way. Living amongst the green as green can be. If I don't try now I'll never be at peace. Whatever happens in the next five minutes, I will still be here in six.
  • Keywords: peppy, cheerful, lively, acoustic, Bright

About Skittish

Skittish Promo

Skittish is folk-rock with thorns.
Skittish is suburban surrender and sexual tension.
Most of all, Skittish is the collection of Minneapolis musicians,
led by Jeff Noller and Vonnie Kyle, who have mixed their talents
into the gumbo that is 'The Perfect Shade of Green.'

Conceived as the third full length album in 2008, band-leader Jeff Noller
worked overnight shifts in a factory to buy studio gear and a house in which
to build his dream studio. Close to completing work on this ...

Preview track
Share track
Add track to playlist