• Artist: Shannon Thomas
  • Title: Not Below You
  • Genre: Rock - Alternative Pop, Pop - Alternative Pop
  • Mood: Down/Dark/Melancholic, Aggressive/Edgy
  • Speed: Medium Fast (95-130)
  • Instruments: Distorted Guitar (Heavy, Aggressive), Acoustic Piano, Real Drums/Drum Kit, Bass
  • Track type: Lyric - Full Length
  • Date added: 10/6/2011
  • Lyric themes: Anguish Desperation, Redemption, Making Threats Trash Talking, Lies Deception, Truth Honesty, Moving On Letting Go
  • Lyric hook: I know that I can measure up, I'm more than good enough for you, you played the part of an angel, but I see right through, and I was in awe of what you do, but I've found the truth, and now I know I'm not below you
  • Lyrics: I need redemption Can't believe how far it went I feel so shameful Thought you were heaven-sent I worshipped you & it was wrong You're not perfect & I'm glad you're gone 'cause Chorus: I know that I can measure up I'm more than good enough for you You played the part of an angel But I see right through I was in awe of what you do But I've found the truth And now I know I was never & I'm not below you I wished for you on every star 'Til you made a mistake That proves how you really are So I realized it's you who's below me And set aflame my skewed reality Repeat Chorus Never thought I could deserve What you would give Never asked what I'm worth Or how I should live I thought it would kill me When it came to the end But it didn't, no it didn't Repeat Chorus
  • Keywords: aggressive, intense, Bass, Guitar

About Shannon Thomas

Shannon Thomas

Tulsa, OK United States

Photo by Eyeworks

Shannon Thomas' music is meaningful, fun, and influenced mostly by pop-rock artists from her own generation. She often takes the stage with just her keyboard and a microphone, but has also teamed up with fellow musicians for full-band performances. After writing and performing for two years, she released her debut album, "Brainstorms," during the summer of 2006. She has been nominated for Best Pop Act at the Tulsa World's Spot Music Awards and showcased at ...

Preview track
Share track
Add track to playlist